Paddle at Picket Post

We’ve got a calendar full of events to interest everyone this season. Be sure to mark your calendars for the Opening Day Social to be held on Sunday September 18th 3‐5pm. It will be a fun afternoon of round robin play combined with wine and cheese to celebrate the beginning of the season. See old friends and meet new ones. Look for a sign up in the Paddle Hut or feel free to contact me to reserve a spot.

Once again, The Men’s Ladder will be overseen by our “keeper of the ladder” Bob Zegel and his committee of Scott Sachs and Jeff McFarland. If you are interested in competing on the Men’s Teams please let Bob ( zegelr@yahoo.com) or myself know and we can provide guidance for challenging onto the ladder.

Be sure to tell your friends about the Discover Paddle Opportunities throughout September. Let’s spread the word about the game we all love. You need not be a member to come see what paddle is all about. Cost is just $6 per person, with use of racquets included.

It is going to be another great season, so come out early and come out often! The courts have been power washed and the paddle hut carpet cleaned as well as some maintenance around the courts completed. See you on the courts!! -Sally Allen, Racquet Director

Platform Tennis Courts/Paddle Courts Address:

1550 Bradford Road
Chesterbrook, PA 19087
map to paddle courts
(Behind Chesterbrook Academy)

Paddle Amenities:

  • 3 paddle courts with lights and a Paddle Hut with a view of the courts
  • Heated Paddle Hut is fully equipped with Wifi, TV and lounging area
  • Season lasts from September 1 through April 15
  • Five mens and six ladies MAPTA inter-club teams
  • Weekly round robins for men and women players of all levels
  • Tournaments and social functions throughout the season
  • A PPTA certified and experienced teaching pro
  • No court fees
  • Online reservation system

MAPTA League Play

Women’s MAPTA League Play begins Oct. 24th . Picket Post will have teams in Cups 1, 2, 3( two teams in 3) and 6 ( two teams in 6). Men’s MAPTA League play begins Oct. 5th. Picket Post will have teams in Divisions 1, 2, 4, 5, 6 and 9.

Paddle Lessons

Whether new to the game or looking to sharpen your skills, our Racquet Sports Director, Sally Allen, will arrange for clinic times, private lessons and pre-season camps.

  • Rates will remain the same as last year
  • Private Lesson $60/Hour
  • Half Hour/Semi Private $30/Hour
  • Groups of 4 or more $15/Hour
  • Groups of 3 or w/Pro (Playing Lesson) $20/Hour

Paddle Round-Robins for Everyone

  • Men's Night every Tuesday 7:00pm
  • Men's Saturday Morning RR 9:00am
  • Ladies Night every Tuesday 5:30pm - 7:00pm
  • Ladies Day every Thursday 9:15am -11:00am

Women’s Weekend League

Please contact Sally if you would like to be included on this team. Matches will be played on Sunday afternoons beginning in late October or early November and continue throughout the winter season. All levels of play are needed and encouraged to participate.

Ladies Team Practices

Ladies Team Practice rates will remain the same as last year. Drop in rate per practice is $15. Payment in advance for a punch card of 10 practices is $12 per practice. See below for practice times although they may be adjusted to suit individual team needs.

  • Cup 1 and 2 - Friday 9:00-10:30am
  • Cup 3 - Tuesday 9:00-10:30am
  • Cup 6 - Tuesday 10:30-12:00pm
  • Beginners and Subs - Monday 12:30-2:00pm

2016-2017 Paddle Events

Date

Day

Event

09/18/2016 Sunday Opening Day Social 3‐5pm
10/05/2016 Wednesday Men’s MAPTA Matches Begin
10/17/2016 Monday MAPTA Breast Cancer Rally
10/24/2016 Monday Women’s MAPTA Interclub Begins
10/29/2016 Saturday Mixed MAPTA ( NOTE NEW DATE)
10/30/2016 Sunday Women’s Hi Lo Tournament 2‐5pm
11/05/2016 Saturday MAPTA Men’s and Women’s (PCQ)
11/11/2016 Friday MAPTA Women’s Super B Tournament(1of3)
11/11/2016 Friday Mixed Fall Social
11/12/2016 Saturday Men’s PCQ
11/18/2016 Friday Women’s DC Open (PCQ)
12/02/2016 Friday MAPTA Women’s Lehigh Open (PCQ)
12/06/2016 Tuesday vMen’s Member Guest
12/11/2016 Sunday Holiday Mixed Social 5‐8pm
12/17/2017 Saturday Men’s Combined Age Tournament
01/01/2017 Sunday New Year’s Day Men’s Scramble
01/07/2017 Sat./Sun. MAPTA Pa States Championship (PCQ)
01/14/2017 Saturday Mixed Mayhem
01/19/2017 Thursday MAPTA Women’s Super B Tournament (2of3)
01/22/2017 Sunday Women’s Club Championship
01/28/2017 Saturday Men’s Club Championship
02/03/2017 Fri/Sat Wilmington Women’s Tourney (PCQ)
02/05/2017 Sunday Mixed B Tournament
02/12/2017 Sunday Mixed Doubles Club Championship
02/17/2017 Friday Mixed Doubles Winter Social (6‐9pm)
02/18/2017 Sat/Sun APTA Philly Men’s(NRT)
02/18/2017 Saturday Mixed Mayhem
02/20/2017 Sat/Sun Mixed MAPTA Tournament
02/22/2017 Wednesday Women’s Member Guest
02/25/2017 Thursday Women’s Super B Tournament( 3of3)
03/04/2017 SaturdayMen's Combined Age Tournament
03/05/2017 Sunday Women’s Ageless Tournament
3/10‐3/12/2017 Thurs. –Sun. APTA Nationals
03/19/2017 Sunday Women’s Club Championship
04/02/2017 Sunday Peg Davis Classic

Paddle Court Reservations are for Current Members Only

In order to make paddle court reservations, members must first obtain a password for the court reservation system. To get a member password, please send an e-mail to picketpostsc@aol.com and put "Password Request" in the subject line. In the body of the e-mail, please include the name your membership is under and a phone number where you can be reached. If you have already received a password, please link to the court reservation system here.

The Paddle Hut

On October 3, 2010, The Club held a Dedication Ceremony to rename our Paddle Hut "The Grande Hut" in honor of the generosity, hard work and dedication of Frank and Joan Grande who brought paddle to our club over nine years ago.

Contact our Paddle Pro

Racquet Sports Director: Sally Allen: (p) 484.955.1056 or sallen131@comcast.net.
USPTA Certified Tennis Professional | PPTA Certified Platform Tennis Professional
Paddle keys can be purchased for $10 from Sally or from the business office.

Distribution List

Be sure to get your email address on the email distribution list to stay informed and up-to-date with all the paddle activities and club events! Email our Racquet Sports Director, Sally Allen sallen131@comcast.net.